" Cricket Etcetera was voted as the Best Cricket Blog by Google during the World Cup 2007 "

Tuesday, April 03, 2007

Twenty/20 World Cup pools announced: India & Pakistan together

So, the ICC has ensured that what happened at the World Cup in West Indies will not happen in the Twenty/20 World Cup, only a few month later in the year in South Africa. India and Pakistan have been put together in the same group alongwith Scotland, and since the top 2 teams qualify into the next round, there is no way that both the sub-continental power-houses can make an early exit, upsets or no upsets.
Group A: South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh
Group B: Australia, England, Zimbabwe
Group C: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Kenya
Group D: Pakistan, India, Scotland
The top 2 teams from each group will proceed to the Super-Eight round, followed by the semi-finals on 22nd September and the final on the 23rd September. The first World Twenty-Twenty Championship starts 11th September, and just like the first match of the 2003 World Cup in South Africa, this one too starts with a South Africa - West Indies match.
Only 3 venues will be used for this inaugural 20-Twenty Cup: Durban, Johannesburg and Capetown.

No comments: